Embracing Happiness and Overcoming Fear: My Outreachy Selection Journey

Embracing Happiness and Overcoming Fear: My Outreachy Selection Journey

ยท

3 min read

Hello everyone! Welcome to my blog๐Ÿ˜ƒ

This is my second blog on Outreachy's journey. You can read my first blog on Outreachy here ๐Ÿ’ƒ

Ersilia, an open-source initiative I joined, focuses on various AI/ML models. When I applied to this project, the specified areas required for this were 'Machine Learning (ML)', 'Conda', and 'Python'. Throughout the contribution period, I was fortunate that they didn't initially require Git and Github๐Ÿ˜Œ. However, later on, I discovered that Git was ultimately necessary to integrate models into their hub.

Being selected as an Outreachy intern brought me immense joy, yet it also triggered a wave of fear within me, why? The reason behind this fear was my lack of familiarity with Git๐Ÿ˜†. I was completely unfamiliar with these terminologies and had no prior knowledge of them as I didn't work on an open-source project, Git or Github before ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

  • Commit

  • Fork

  • Push and Pull Request(PR)

Due to my lack of prior experience with Git, I didn't possess any familiarity with it during the selection process. Upon being selected for Outreachy-Ersilia, a newfound sense of courage and determination surged within me, empowering me to take on the challenge with confidence. As a beautiful quote says

Dare to learn, to be different, to set your goals, to move out of your comfort zone, to be persistent

Following the announcement of my selection, there were 2-3 weeks before the start of the internship, allowing me some time to prepare and transition into the Outreachy program. During that period, I utilized the available time to actively search for different courses to gain proficiency in Git and Github in detail. Fortunately, I stumbled upon an outstanding course i.e. Udacity that greatly assisted me in mastering Git๐Ÿ‘.

It is worth mentioning the tremendous value this course added to my skill set. They provided concise practice demonstrations to facilitate the learning process. For individuals who share the same fear of lacking knowledge in Git๐Ÿ™‹, I highly recommend taking this course as it comprehensively covers all necessary topics. No additional courses are required once you have completed it.

Everything you don't know is something you can learn

With the invaluable guidance from that course, I have acquired the ability to proficiently work on models and submit pull requests (PR). Notably, my initial PR filled me with immense happiness. It may seem trivial, but embracing the joy of small victories is a practice worth cherishing, as the famous quote reminds us

Great things are done by a series of small things brought together

This is my journey of embarking on a path of learning and growth, and I am deeply grateful to Outreachy and Ersilia Open Source Initiative for granting me this invaluable opportunity. Through their support, I have been able to acquire new knowledge and skills, bridging a three-year gap during which I hadn't written a single line of code.

During this three-month journey, I am committed to absorbing as much knowledge as possible and eagerly embracing new concepts and skills. I am optimistic that this experience will pave the way for exciting opportunities to unfold in the future๐Ÿ™

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog. Thank you for taking the time to explore it๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Look forward to suggestions/comments๐Ÿ‘

ย